You are here: Home News Pollitzer Travel Awards 2014

Pollitzer Travel Awards 2014

by Ed Hagen last modified Apr 19, 2014 12:16 PM
The William Pollitzer Travel Award. is an award of $500 in honor of Dr. William S. Pollitzer. It is designed to help students defray the costs of attending the AAPA meetings. This award is open to all AAPA student members (undergraduate and graduate). This year, we received a total of 128 submissions for the Pollitzer Travel awards, up 31 submissions from last year. The Student Affairs Committee awarded travel prizes to a total of 50 students in response to the following prompt:


In the past year, droughts, floods, tsunamis, and superstorms have made headlines around the world, and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change has begun rolling out its 5thAssessment Report on global climate change and possible response strategies. In a short essay (750 words maximum), discuss the significance of climate change in human and nonhuman primate evolutionary history. Depending on your interests, you may wish to focus on a specific period of time (i.e., you need not constrain yourself to the contemporary!) and/or a specific taxonomic group.

Travel award winners for the 2014 AAPA meetings include: Kathryn Allen, Claudia Astorino, Jess Beck, Richard Brel, Laura Cirillo, Mary Cole, Kim Congdon, Shaliegh Diaz-Ryder, Erin Dineen, Hallie Edmonds, Jennifer Eyre, Adam Foster, Theresa Gildner, Halszka Glowacka, Alia Gurtov, Nicholas Holowka, Stephen Johnson, Rob'yn Johnson, Addison Kemp, Holly Kiang, Marc Kissel, Tom Kraft, Sharon Kuo, Anne Kwiatt, Sam Larson, Justin Ledogar, Ellis Locke, Elizabeth LoPresti, Emily Middleton, Selin Nugent, Sean Prall, Kelsey Pugh, Joshua Robinson, John Rowen, Elizabeth Sawchuk, Jill Scott, Jess Senjem, Darcy Shapiro (declined), Eric Shattuck, Brian Shearer, Amanda Spriggs, Nicole Squyres, Laura Stroik, Sarah Swartz, Rob Tennyson, Nathan Thompson, Miranda Utzinger, Ziyu Wang, Gabriel Yapuncich, and Madeline Zhu. Congratulations, all!

20 of these awards were funded by auction proceeds.

Document Actions